Are you ready for the whistle & lanyard?

25 09 2008

From the quiz NBA’s Director of Officiating Programs and Development Joe Borgia gave to the media:  (Originally Posted on

  • A defender must be in position when an offensive player gathers the ball in order to draw an offensive foul. FALSE. The key moment is not when the player gathers the ball. It’s when he begins his upward motion.
  • A team has 30 seconds to replace an ejected player. FALSE. A team has 30 seconds to replace a player who has fouled out with six fouls. But if your’e ejected, a replacement is due immediately. 
  • Player A1 is injured as the result of a flagrant foul assessed to player B1. Following his two free throw attempts, player A1 is unable to resume play. He may return to the game at a later point. TRUE. If he shoots those free throws, he’s available. 
  • Player A1′s poor frontcourt pass is in the air over the midcourt line. Player A3 jumps from the frountcourt, secures possession of the ball over the backcourt, and calls for a timeout. The timeout should not be granted. TRUEIf the ball has broken the plane of the sidelines or the mid-court line, and you’re not inside the boundary yourself, you can’t call timeout.
  • Defender B5 is in the key area and not actively guarding any opponent. He steps three feet off the court on the baseline directly under the backboard. The three-second count stops. FALSE. The key area extends four feet deep off the court under the basket.
  • Player A3 commits a traveling violation in his frontcourt at 1:23 of the third period. Substitute A6 is walking towards the table but not within the substitution box. He may not enter the game. FALSEIn the last two minutes of periods, referees now (it wasn’t always this way) allow reasonable time for teams to get the players they want on the floor, even if they’re not waiting in the box.
  • The official hands Player A1 the ball to attempt his final free throw. It is now noticed that Team B has six players on the court. The official will stop play prior to the free throw being released and assess Team B with a technical foul. FALSE. Teams have until the free throw is released to recognize and correct the problem before being penalized.
  • Offensive player A5 is assessed a flagrant foul penalty 1 when he turns into defender B5 with an extended elbow. No free throws will be attempted since this is an offensive foul. FALSE. It’s a flagrant foul which deserves free throws no matter where it occurs.
  • Player A1 throws a poor pass over A2′s head. As A2 goes for the ball he pushes B2 out of the way. A loose ball foul should be assessed to player A2. FALSE. This is a tricky one! It may seem like a loose ball foul, but in fact it’s an offensive foul — which has ramifications for team fouls and bonus. The reason: Team A still has the ball, they are just investigating the idea of ending the possession. But they haven’t actually given up the ball yet.
  • Player B3 receives his second flagrant foul of the game and is ejected. The officials will use instant replay to confirm the ejection. FALSE. Only with a flagrant 2 can instant replay be used to confirm an ejection.

  • Actions


    Leave a comment

    You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>